A whole slew of updates to the RMOD software

Knas

A whole slew of updates to the RMOD software

Post by Knas »

Hello, i've done a whole bunch of updates to the RMOD software at my local fork: https://github.com/Knaster/LitePlacer-ver2 - i'm hoping people can help me test it and make sure it works before submitting a pull request to Juha. I realize i should not have done as many edits at once, however i started this a while ago and i didn't have git at the time and i have never used it before. I also didn't want to try and go back and add features piece-by-piece to the original code as they're inter-dependent and the possibility of errors would be much greater that way.

The majority of the changes i've made concerns calibrations and placement accuracy, basically my thought on the lite placer is that it's able to be a much cheaper alternative to "professional" machines because it can be made DIY-style by people not needing to be excellent mechanical engineers, using much cheaper / imperfect materials than what's found in commercial alternatives. This being said i've had a number of issues in regards to the fact that i myself am a fairly bad mechanical engineer and seemingly i cannot get my machine mechanically perfect despite my best efforts. Luckily todays software technology is cheap and good enough that most, if not all, mechanical issues can be compensated for in software - which in terms of open source, is free.

I've made a bunch of calibration routines using a specially designed calibration paper that should be printable on any semi-accurate printer, to be used with the down looking camera. The file is called "calibrationsheet.png" and can be found in the root directory.